AMK announces annual awards  

June 29, 2012

Aatish, Rukhsana, Rashid, Makhdoomi to be honoured 

Adbee Markaz Kamraz (AMK) has announced its prestigious annual awards, which are given to people from different walks of life for their contributions in promotion of Kashmiri language and literature. The awardees were selected by a jury comprising eminent poets, writers, critics and other litterateurs of the State.

Noted poet, researcher and folklorist Ghulam Nabi Aatish will be conferred this year’s “Sharaf-e-Kamraz” award for his tremendous contribution towards Kashmiri literature, particularly folklore and literary research.  “Karwan-e-Adab” Dab Ganderbal bagged the “Sharaf-e-Kamraz” award in the category of literary organisations, for its efforts on ground to reach out to poets and writers of Kashmiri language and provide them exposure and opportunity to show their talent.  The award carries cash prize, memento and citation for the each awardee.

This year’s “Khilat-e-Hanfi Sopori”  awards will be conferred to noted Kashmiri singer Raashid Jahangir, prominent broadcaster and poet Rukhsana Jabeen and Imam Hai Jamia Qadeem  Baramulla Late Moulana Ghulam Rasool Makhdoomi. The award carries cash prize, shawl, citation and memento to each awardee.

The “Mohi-u-din Hajni Gold Medal,” which is given to a student who tops the MA Kashmiri examination of Kashmir University, in collaboration with prominent  Kashmiri daily newspaper “Sangarmal” is bagged this year by Shabir Ahmad Ganie.

The awards shall be presented to the awardees at the forthcoming two-day annual conference of AMK at Poonch on July2-3, 2012.

Related articles