AMK resents govt indifference toward Kashmiri language

March 3, 2013

To meet CM before launching decisive movement

Expressing resentment over the continued indifference of the government toward various issues of Kashmiri language, Adbee Markaz Kamraz (AMK) today decided to meet the Chief Minister before launching the decisive phase of its language movement.

In an important meeting of its Executive at Sopore headquarter chaired by President Dr Aziz Hajni, AMK said despite repeated assurances, the government is yet to start teaching of Kashmiri language as evaluative subject in 9th and 10th classes. Moreover, there continues to be the shortage of teachers of Kashmiri language in schools and colleges. “Over the years these issues have been taken up with the government at various levels, but nothing has happened beyond promises,” the meeting regretted. After thorough discussions, it was decided that the eleven-member committee of AMK comprising members of civil society,set-up in November last year, shall meet the Chief Minister soon to take up all these issues with him directly. “After this meeting, if the government continues its nonchalance toward Kashmiri language, AMK shall launch a decisive phase to achieve these objectives,” the meeting resolved. Maintaining that Kashmiri language is a symbol and guardian of collective identity of Kashmiri culture and civilisation, the meeting resolved to mobilise public opinion for protection of their mother tongue. In his remarks AMK President Dr Aziz Hajni said AMK and civil society are going to work together in the larger interests of collective identity of Kashmiris irrespective of region or religion.

The meeting congratulated this year’s Sahitya Akademi awardees, Makhan Lal Kanwal, Abdul Ahad Hajni and Farooq Shaheen, saying such honours strengthen the efforts of promotion of Kashmiri language and literature. It was also decided that AMK will again meet the district administration Baramulla to expedite the construction of AMK office in Kanispora Baramullah.

Among others, the meeting was attended by Prof Mashal Sultanpori, Muhammad Ahsan Ahsan, Muhammad Yousuf Mashhoor, Abdul Khaliq Shams, Abdul Ahad Hajni, Rasheed Aafaq, Hassan Darwaish, Farooq Rafiabadi, Rasheed Roshan, Zameer Ansari, Ghulam Nabi Shakir, Shahid Dilnavi, Mansoor Muntazir, Majeed Majazi, Hassan Azhar, Farooq Shaheen, Yousuf Sameem, and Akhtar Mansoor.

Related articles