AMK to establish “Supporting Units” across State

September 22, 2012

Delhi Language movement to be re-vitalised

In a significant decision aiming at broadening its role and functioning, Adbee Markaz Kamraz (AMK) decided to establish “Supporting Units” across Jammu & Kashmir and also at Delhi.

After through deliberations  in the series of  meetings of its Executive and Advisory Board, AMK formulated the plan to set-up “Supporting Units” at all district headquarters in the State with a focus on Kashmiri speaking areas of Jammu, Chenab Valley and Pir Panchal regions. Besides, atleast one such unit shall be established in capital city Delhi. The step has been taken in response to the consistent demands of the litterateurs of various areas of the State who wanted AMK to reach out to them.

The “Supporting Units” will coordinate in the language movement of AMK, which is going to be re-vitalised in coming days. These units will comprise of not only poets and writers of the respective areas, but civil society members as well. AMK hopes that this new reachout initiative will help the State’s oldest and largest literary federation to further its cause of promotion and preservation of Kashmiri language and literature.

This process shall begin in October, when a team of AMK will visit Jammu region to constitute the units there.

AMK proposes to organise a joint conference of the members of these units in Srinagar, which is expected to be the largest literary conclave in the State.

Various aspects of this initiative were discussed threadbare in a joint meeting of the Executive and  the Advisory Board of AMK the other day which was held in Srinagar. The meeting was attended by AMK President Dr Aziz Hajni, General Secretary Dr Shujaat Bukhari, Vice-President Atiqa Bano, Muhammad Ahsan Ahsan, Prof Muhammad Zaman Azurdah, Dr Farooq Fayyaz, Prof Ayaz Rasool Nazki, Ghulam Nabi Gowhar, Mushtaq Ahmad Mushtaq, Prof Nasir Mirza, Aijaz Ahmad Kakroo, Ghulam Muhammd Gamgeen,  Ghulam Nabi Aatish, Saad-ud-Din Saadi, Fayyaz Tilgami, Muhammad Amin Bhat, A G Beig Athar, Zameer Ansari, Showkat Ansari Rasheed Roshan, Sanaullah Niyaz and Pervez Majeed.

Related articles