March 6, 2011

SRINAGAR MAR 6: Adbee Markaz Kamraz on Sunday decided to launch valley wide agitation to save the Jammu and Kashmir Academy of Art, Culture and Languages (JKAACL) from politics which the organization said had adversely affected the cultural scene in the state. It was also decided to hold the annual conference in Gurez this year.

The decisions were taken at the meeting of executive council of AMK held at Sopore today. Presided over by Dr Aziz Hajini the meeting took strong exception to the attitude of Minister for Tourism and Culture who has  stopped grant in aid to over 400 cultural and literary organizations making it hostage to the tussle between him and the Chief Minister”s office. The members expressed anguish over the affairs of state vis a vis Academy and said that such a situation has never been witnessed in past five decades. It was unanimously decided to launch valley wide agitation to save the Academy from politics and in this connection other organizations working for Dogri,Pahari, Gojri and Punjabi will be taken into confidence. “We will first wait for a week and incase the Chief Minister and Cultural Minister are not able to resolve the issue we will come on streets” a spokesman of AMK said quoting the deliberations. He said that stopping of all funds to Academy has severely affected the cultural scene in the state.

The meeting also decided to hold AMK”s annual conference of 2011 in Gurez. Dates for same will be notified later.

In another important decision the date for the election of office bearers and reconstitution of general council were also notified. “Election for the office bearers will take place on June 5 and before that the general council will be reconstituted” the spokesman said adding that general council serves as the electoral college for electing office bearers. The meeting also reviewed the calender of activities of AMK.

Those who attended the meeting included general secretary Dr Syed Shujaat Bukhari, tresurer Mohammad Ahsan Ahsan, Mashal Sultanpuri, Saduddin Saidi, Ranjoor Tilgami, Fayaz Tilgami, Abdul Ahad Hajini, Farooq Rafiabadi, Zamir Ansari, Shahid Delnavi, Abdul Khaliq Shams, Shabnum Tilgami, Irshad Ahmad Shah, Rashid Roshan, Majid Majazi, Bashir A Mangwalpori and Hassan Azhar.

Related articles